Cville 2011 Winter Fashion Challenge

It’s time to take a break from running, which has been dominating the blog lately.

Wow, it’s been awhile since I did my last Charlottesville Fashion Challenge. As I’ve mentioned before, we don’t have that many options here in central VA. Sure we’ve got the usual Gap, Banana, J Crew (which is huge with the Southern preps around here), Ann Taylor, LOFT, White House Black Market, etc and we also just got Anthropologie and Urban Outfitters in the past 2 years, which definitely helps the cause. Luckily the Short Pump mall in Richmond, which has Nordstroms, DSW, and some other stores we don’t have here, is only 45 minutes away. For a list of smaller boutiques that we do have in Charlottesville, which actually offer a wide range of designer clothing and accessories, you can check out this post.

So for my Charlottesville winter fashion challenge, I put together looks and pieces solely from stores we have access to here (including Nordstrom). I loved this challenge because I love this time of year! The parties, trips, and fashion are my absolute favorite. PLUS, you’ll find the best sales of the year around Christmas and New Years.  Check ’em out:

Holiday Parties

Whatever you celebrate–whether it be Christmas, Hanukkah, or Ramadan–there are many opportunities to celebrate and dress your best this time of year. You can mix up the obvious choices of red, green, and/or something sparkly by playing with length (like the maxi dress below), mixing metals (silver and gold bangles), color-blocking (similar to the classic white and black dress), or donning something with lace. I have a few big holiday parties coming up (and I don’t want to feel underdressed like I did this past week), so here are some looks I would definitely rock

Clockwise starting with the top left:

Laundry by Shelli Segal One Shoulder Bow Dress (Bevello; $295)

Metallic Pleated One-Shoulder Dress (Express; $68.60)

Rouched Back Red Lacquer Evening Gown (Express; $68.60 on sale)

Nadri Pave Bangle (Nordstrom; $58 each)

“Dress Me Up in Lace” Dress (Francesca’s Collections; $44)

Tory Burch Metallic Stacked Log “Reva” Clutch (Nordstrom; $295)

Katrina Rhinestone Sandals (Ann Taylor; $199.99 on sale)

Rebecca Minkoff “Classics MAC” Crossbody Clutch (Nordstrom; $295)

Clean Sparkle Pumps (LOFT; $79.50)

Warm and Fuzzies

Although I live in central Virginia now, where we have a relatively mild winter, I am a true northerner at heart. I hate the cold but I love the snow. I also love fall/winter clothing the most. Maybe because it feels like I am actually getting more (material) for my money. These are some warm and fuzzy looks that I emulate every day to go into my office or work at a coffee shop.

Clockwise starting with the top left:

Slouched Keyhole Sweater (Anthropologie; $248)

Shearwater boot (Sperry Top-Sider; $118)

Staring at Stars Marled Knit Snood (Urban Outfitters; $38)

Eggplant Glittens (glove/mittens) (LOFT; $29.50)

Sparkle & Fade Scalloped Lace Dress (Urban Outfitters; $89)

Cole haan Thompson Street Crossbody Bag (Belk; On Sale $170.99)

Ugg Bailey Button Boot (Nordstrom; $159.95)

Snowden Funnelneck Sweater-Jacket (J.Crew; $248)

Faux Fur Pom Pom Slipper Booties (LOFT; $39.50)

Snowdon Maxi Skirt (Anthropologie; $118)

New Year’s Eve 2011-2012

NYE only comes but once a year. You’re probably thinking, “well, duh”, but I feel the need to say that because it is an amazing opportunity to get dressed up in something that makes you feel fabulous. Going out to a big club or party is not for everyone but even if you go to a house dinner/party or stay home you can still celebrate in style. Personally, NYE is my absolute favorite. I love planning my outfit every year 🙂

 Look #1 (Left):

Robert Rodriguez Zip Trim Sequin Dress (Nordstrom; $625)

Banana Republic Shimmer Bead Tunnel Clutch (Banana Republic; $98)

Tory Burch Braced Bangles (Nordstrom; $95 each)

Look #2 (Center): 

Shoshanna One Shoulder Draped Dress (Duo; $374)

Steve Madden Dynemite Sandal (Nordstrom; $99.95)

Ann Taylor Cafe Leather Purse (Ann Taylor; $228)

Look #3 (Right)

Ruby Velvet Jacket (White House Black Market; $128)

Silver Sequined Skirt (White House Black Market; $168)

Hobo International Vintage Zara Chain Purse (Belk; $118)

Sam Edelman Roza Pump (Nordstrom, $224.95)

This entry was posted in fashionable life, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cville 2011 Winter Fashion Challenge

  1. Pingback: One Year Anniversary | Let's Go on a Living Spree

Leave a Reply

