Mas Tapas

As a former Bostonian I have to admit that I am a bit of a food snob. I don’t mean that I am a foodie. I just have higher expectations for what I should get from a “nicer” restaurant. There are only a few restaurants that have really done it for me here in Cville. Sure, there are plenty of food spots that are great here. But nicer restaurants that serve really good food? I can count them on one hand. To date, one of my favorite restaurants in Charlottesville is Mas (technically it is in Belmont, an adjacent neighborhood).

Mas is part of the Coran Capshaw empire here in Cville (manager of Dave Matthews Band), so it’s no wonder that it’s good. Most times when I tell visitors that I want to take them to Mas, they complain that they are too hungry for some puny tapas. But let me tell you, Mas is a FEAST of delectable goodies ๐Ÿ™‚

After my friends and I went winetasting at Pollak vineyard on Friday, we decided to head over to Mas (so I could get some carbs for the Richmond 10 miler the next day and so we could all get some fab food).

We sat at the bar so we could see all the action happening behind the counter where they make the food. They also display cheese, nuts, and other goodies on the counter to make your mouth water

We definitely had a feast! I have to say that although I don’t usually eat much red meat, some of the best dishes at Mas use beef and bacon. So I don’t hold back ๐Ÿ˜‰

We started out with oven baked bread and hummus (not pictured) and bacon covered dates. MMMmmm

Followed by Carne Asada…the absolute best! It’s served with a scrumptious sauce and some flatbread

And some pasta with fresh basil and manchego cheese

MAS MAS!!!!

Tonight I am heading over to another good spot in Belmont, The Local, so I’ll be sure to take some yummy pics ๐Ÿ™‚

 

This entry was posted in eating, hungry life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mas Tapas

  1. Carina says:

    Mas opened after I left Cvle, so I’ve only been there once (last yr when I went back for my reunion) but I liked it a lot too. DId I tell you about taking my husband to Cvle last yr for the first time? I was so excited about going back to eat at so many of my fave places and I kept telling him about it, and after about the 3d meal in Cvle, he was like, do they have anything other than sandwiches here? Haha. I tried to explain that I was on a law school budget and sandwiches fit my wallet and life well at the time, so that was pretty much all I went out to eat, but it’s not exactly like good restaurants in a big city. I still think Cvle has some of the best sandwiches I’ve eaten in my life, but yeah, not so much lots of amazing restaurants.

    • Yes, great sammy places, like Take It Away and Little John’s ๐Ÿ™‚ And there ARE good places here, like Continental Divide and C&O. But I don’t think the other “nicer” places, like Hamilton’s or The Downtown Grille are very good. I’ve heard some good things about Duner’s so I want to check that out. Let me know if you ever come back and we’ll go get a sandwich!!!

  2. tomas rahal says:

    Hi Claire, Tomas here from MAS Tapas just wanted to say thank you for the kind words, and am so happy your experience was fun. Next time ask for me if it’s not too crazy and we’ll try some new things. I just back from Spain and excited about lots of new tapa and wines. You can check out our Spain blog on masinspain.wordpress.com. muchas gracias por todo!

  3. Pingback: One Year Anniversary | Let's Go on a Living Spree

Leave a Reply

