Cozy and Chic

On Friday night my friends and I decided to head out to the Pollak Vineyards to enjoy some wine and music outside.  On the last Friday of every month the vineyard has a band, crepes, and wine. Fun! It was a gorgeous fall night, with temps in the 60s. You could just feel fall in the air! Just look how gorgeous the wine tasting lodge was when we pulled up!

Let me take this moment to mention that I love Fall! It is by far my favorite season: football, halloween, my birthday :-), chillier weather for running, foliage, and just a sense of coziness that I miss during the oppressively hot summers.

I decided that I wanted to try out the sweater with skirt trend I’ve been reading about lately. I’ve been wanting to try out chunkier ski sweaters (the shorter version) with short skirts and thinner more refined sweaters with maxi skirts. I was excited because I love it when pieces, like the maxi skirt, can effortlessly transition into the next season. Just take a look at the cover of Intermix’s Fall Lookbook

And don’t these ladies just look chic and comfy?

  Ok so obviously some of those outfits are for days that are a bit colder, but I think the trend works even when there is a slight chill in the air. That’s why I decided to pair my BCBGeneration Crinkle Maxi Skirt with a light shorter sleeve sweater and then bring along a long sleeve sweater to cover up later in the night.

Skirt: BCBGeneration; Top: American Apparel; Bag: Marc by Marc Jacobs

Although I got this skirt at Bloomingdales a few weeks back, I see that it’s now on sale at Dillards ($79 down from $118). It’s super comfortable and also has a moderate slit on the left side to flash some leg if you feel so inclined (I’m still in search of a skirt/dress with a higher slit a la Diane Kruger/Jason Wu! This is a big trend for fall)

Yes it’s a high slit, but I think it’d be fab for New Year’s Eve. My skirt had a much more modest slit

Perfectly cozy night for wine tasting

I can’t wait to try out more skirt/sweater combos in the near future!

This entry was posted in fashionable life, shopping, social life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Cozy and Chic

  1. Carina says:

    Oh vineyards, Charlottesville is such a wonderful place! Texas wine is not so good, but it’s irrelevant b/c there aren’t such cool vineyards nearby. Lucky girl!

    • Haha, yea when I get upset that I live in such a small town (I’m a city gal) I tell myself that it is one of the best parts of living here 🙂

      Texas is so–for lack of a better word–IN right now. Dallas especially. I hear great things about it!

  2. myhighonlife says:

    that skirt is SUPER cute! Very versatile, you look fabulous! =)

  3. Pingback: NYFW / BCBG | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  4. Pingback: One Year Anniversary | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  5. Pingback: Following The Monticello Wine Trail | Let's Go on a Living Spree

Leave a Reply

