Richmond Capitol 10 Miler Recap

I woke up bright and early yesterday morning to drive down to Richmond for the 7:30am race start. When my alarm went off at 5am it was 52 degrees outside and raining. Ew. But I had faith in what weather.com was saying about the weather around race time so I forced myself up and was out on the road by 5:20.

My hips have started to hurt, probably because of all the PT I’ve been doing to strengthen them. So when I arrived in downtown Richmond, I decided to do some foam rolling in the parking lot. You know how I roll (hehe, pun intended)

Now, I didn’t end up wearing all of those layers during the race. I have to admit I was a bit nervous about what to wear while running. I am always nervous when it’s an in-between temperature, like low 50s and no sun. During the Shamrock Marathon in Virginia Beach in March, it was in the mid 50s and sunny–perfect weather for a marathon–but I was actually really cold from about mile 8 to 14. I think it’s because it was so incredibly windy. For that marathon I wore my capri running tights, tank, and arm warmers so I decided to go that route again. And it was perfect! Not too cold and not too warm.

That Nike tank is pretty amazeballs, by the way. It’s super soft, thin, and long so i don’t have to tug at it the whole time. The only problem was that it rained lightly for the first 4 miles of the race so the tank got a bit stretched out by the end (as you can see at the picture where I am running below)

Running down the final hill to the finish

Overall, The Richmond Capitol 10 miler was a nice race. It was much smaller than I thought it was going to be (bibs implied that there were about 1,000 people but if felt more like 400). The Charlottesville 10 miler is much larger, with 5,000 people. But I really liked the size. And it starts and ends right at the Virginia capitol building. The governor, Bob McDonald, even came out and gave us a little speech about the importance of exercise before we started (which was a bit strange, because he said, “I couldn’t even run one mile right now so hats off you to all…”).  The course took us through all of the neighborhoods of Richmond and I got to see some really pretty houses on Monument Ave and in the Fan (neighborhoods adjacent to the downtown area). It was pretty challenging with much of it uphill and some rolling hills between miles 5 and 7. Uphills, I have found, are great for my knee and I now welcome them. The downhills…not so much.

My knee hurt just a bit for the whole race, something that was a bit annoying. My left hip also started to hurt after mile 9, probably because I ever so slightly favored that leg because of my right knee. Urgh. But I finished feeling really strong. My time–1 hour 35min–is definitely not my best. I understand, but have yet to come to terms with the fact that my days of getting PRs are probably over. But I can still rock some negative splits…and I’m happy that I’m still able to run at all.

After crossing the finish line. My only complaint? All the food and water was another half mile up a hill

Oh, and I got a massage at the end. At all my races and marathons, I’ve actually never had a massage at the end of a race. It felt amazing!

And the little chubby furball was there to cheer me on

What more could I ask for?

The rest of my weekend has been fun so I’ll be sure to post later about Friday night dinner and drinks 🙂

This entry was posted in active life, running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Richmond Capitol 10 Miler Recap

  1. Carina says:

    I think arm sleeves are the perfect solution to so many weather conditions! I’m 90% sure that for my mid-Nov race I’m wearing shorts and a tank, and if it’s cold, I’m adding arm sleeves.

    I also have the same uphill experience — I never used to like them, but when my soleus was healing, it was actually the only thing that felt good. Flat was okay, downhill was painful, but uphill it felt fine.

    And I just have to say that your days of PRing are nowhere near over! Most women winning marathons and other races are older than you. You’ve got lots of years of running ahead of you, even if you have to take off a year or two for injuries now or later. Proof from an article a few years ago:

    “Female long distance runners are like wine, they get better with time”

    At the 2008 NYC marathon there were 41 elite women. There average age was 33, Two thirds were 30 or older and nearly a half were 35 and older. Some of the famous names were Paula Radcliffe 34, the eventful winner, Gete Wami 33 and Catherine Ndereba 36, the fourth place finisher.

    And it is not just NYC marathon, just look at this list of 2008 marathon winners;
    2008 Beijing Olympic marathon- Constantina Tomescu of Romania, 38 Years young.
    2008 Berlin Marathon – Irina Mikitenko, 36 years young.
    2008 Chicago marathon – Lidiya Grigoryeva, 34 years young.

    • Oh, thank you so much!!! All I kept thinking throughout the whole race was the fact that my PR days were over. I know that women runners peak in their early to mid-30s, but I’m just afraid with my knee I won’t ever be 100% again..Although it’s a feat that I’m even running 10milers. So I will take faith in what you’re saying…thank you!!!

      • Carina says:

        I think it’s a matter of time, and while it sucks now, running will still be there when you’re all healed up. I got hurt in Oct 05 and I still ran the races I’d planned for the rest of that year — the NYC full, then a Thanksgiving 8 race and a local December half, and then I was off basically all of 2006 healing up. But back at it in 07 (around the same pace), and then in 08, I started working a lot more on speed and watched my times drop — not long after I turned 30! You have plenty of time!

  2. Pingback: 8 Week Countdown to Rocking the Strip | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  3. Pingback: 2011 Race Recap | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  4. Pingback: 2011 Race Recap | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  5. Pingback: Colonial Half Marathon Recap and PR | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  6. Pingback: MCM E-Card and Bib # | Let's Go on a Living Spree

Leave a Reply

