Body saying YES! Knee saying…well, okay

This kind of reminds me of that R. Kelly song, “my mind’s telling me no, but my body, my booooody’s telling me yeeees”

Ok, I digress…

That is exactly how I felt during my long run this week. I finally got off the old treadmill and ran outside. The weather has finally cooled down and I can’t say no to running outside when the high temp is in the 60s 🙂

I love running outside if the temperature is cooler than 75 so I was feeling great!!! My knee even held up for about 8 miles. Around mile 8.5 it started popping and I could feel something rubbing (most likely that damn piece of loose cartilage). It didn’t hurt per se. It just felt strange. My doctor said that popping isn’t worrisome so I continued on and made it to…14 miles!

Usually I wouldn’t be so excited to run 14 miles (anything less than 15 miles just doesn’t seem long anymore) but with my knee this was a nice accomplishment. The pain started up around mile 14 so I turned around and walked 1.5 miles back to my car. If it wasn’t for my knee pain I definitely would have pushed it further. The rest of my body was saying GO but my knee was saying THAT’s ENOUGH for now. So annoying. Kinda strange to have this internal battle happening between the endurance my body has and the limits of my knee. And my knee is winning. URgh.

My body to my knee:

 Seriously, how rude.

So as of now, it’s still up in the air as to whether I am going to continue training for the Vegas Marathon or just do the Vegas half marathon (I looked it up and I can just run in the half in any corral with my marathon bib). But if you know me, you know which one I truly want to run…

This entry was posted in active life, running. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Body saying YES! Knee saying…well, okay

  1. Carina says:

    14 is solid, glad it worked out for you!

  2. Pingback: An ice bath a day… | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  3. Pingback: Richmond Capitol 10 miler | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  4. Pingback: 2011 Race Recap | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  5. Pingback: 2011 Race Recap | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  6. Pingback: MCM E-Card and Bib # | Let's Go on a Living Spree

Leave a Reply

