12 Blissful Miles

Last week I got some really bad news about my knee and my future with running. I’m not going to share anything quite yet because I’m going in for a second opinion on Monday, but let’s just put it this way: If I can’t run for a long time–or ever again–I will be more than heartbroken. Some people may think this is overstating it, but to me it would be like experiencing a death.

But I’m trying to stay positive for the time being. My knee has slowly, ever so surely, been feeling better (although if the underlying problem as identified by my doctor is correct, the pain I feel isn’t the problem). I’ve been easing into training for the Vegas Marathon (I recapped weeks one and two so far…I’ll recap week 3 after my doc’s appointment) with a bit of knee pain, but nothing too bad. So with the possibility of not being able to run in the near future fresh in my mind, I set out for a 12 miler on my favorite running spot in the country: the Chicago Lakeshore Path.

 The path is amazing for multiple reasons, but I love it for a few in particular: 1) it’s flat (so much easier and better than running in the hills of Cville), 2) There are water fountains and bathrooms almost every mile, 3) It continues uninterrupted for over 10 miles, and 4) you get to run alongside Lake Michigan and get an incredible view of the skyline on your way back down.

Yep the weather here today was pretty great. When I started at 7am it was 60 degrees and sunny. Hells yeeeyah! So I ran up the path for about 6 miles, past Wrigleyville and then turned around and ran back.

I love using gmaps pedometer to map out my runs. I know people love “Map My Run”, but I like this better.

Running is a drug. Well, it is to me anyways. I need it and I feel like an addict going through withdrawal when I can’t do it. Fingers crossed that one of the things I love doing the most isn’t taken away from me…

Oh, and I know you’re dying to know what is in the shopping bags 😉 Stay tuned!

This entry was posted in active life, running. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 12 Blissful Miles

  1. Carina says:

    I’ll cross my fingers you get good news about your knee. I run w/ a guy all the time time who had total knee replacements on both knees and he’s fast and all healed up!

    I love LSD too. I’m going to be there 2 weeks from today and I can’t wait to run it!

  2. Pingback: “Conservative Care” is the name of the game | Let's Go on a Living Spree

Leave a Reply

