Case of the Mondays…but not for long!

Monday Motivation: “Try not. Do, or do not. There is no ‘try‘” –the wise YODA

I woke up this morning on the wrong side of the bed this morning, both literally and metaphorically. Literally because I somehow made it all the way over to the right side (I normally sleep in the middle or toward the left) and metaphorically because I was a grump. OOOOhhh, how I loathe getting up early. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again (and again and again): I am not a morning person. Although getting up early has gotten a bit easier over time, it has never gotten easy. So on top of the fact that I needed to get up early this morning (early being 7:30am), I had a ton of things floating around in my head and on my to-do list that were making me anxious. Here are a few:

Pick Sophie up from the kennel

Go to gym (if there’s time!)

Semester starts today: I should go in to my office and do a little cleaning to start things off right. I should track down some faculty members to talk with and see if I can reconnect with some returning students

Doctor appointment at 1pm to talk about my MRI results and the “floating” cartilage in my knee

Semester kick-off picnic at 4pm

Somehow fitting in some work: putting my syllabus together (my first class that I teach starts tomorrow!!!), finally get to work on my dissertation Chapter 3, track down my advisor, etc….

When I have such a full day sometimes I can get anxious. I think the anxiety comes from the fact that I’m afraid I won’t get it all done. I just need to remind myself that it’s ok if I don’t get it all done. I’ll get done as much as I can!

So I was Ms. Grumpy Pants this morning. But as soon as I started checking things off the list things turned around in a big way. Like a 180. Here’s how:

  • Picked up my little curmudgeon at the kennel, aka doggy hotel, and she was a bundle of smiles and wags 🙂

I'm Baaaaaaaaaaaaack! Give me some lovin'

  • I hit the gym for a brief but intense workout: 3 mile interval run followed by arm strength circuit (chest, biceps, triceps) and core (sit-ups, planks, etc). A good workout always solves a case of the Mondays

  • The weather is gorgeous out today. Sunny and the mid-80s. Now that’s what I’m talking about!!! All the students are back and the campus (it’s grounds actually) is buzzing! I loved the walk from the coffee shop to my office 🙂

  • We have a new Einsteins Bagels in the bookstore, which is across the street from my building! I know that to most people this isn’t a huge development. But I’ve dealt with no bagels nearby (except Bodos) for 3 years now. Love it!

Now just off to work on the syllabus for my class. Be afraid, students. Be very afraid. Muuhahahahahaha 😉 
This entry was posted in balanced life, Happy, The Good Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Case of the Mondays…but not for long!

  1. Carina says:

    Oh, how can you eat Einstein’s when you have Bodo’s? It’s one of the eats I miss from Cvle, there’s Einstein’s everywhere… I figured Bodo’s was the main reason Einstein’s wasn’t there, just too strong a following.

  2. Ahh, I do like Bodos because they make one of my favorite sandwiches, BUT, they don’t toast their bagels. They say that they are always fresh out of the oven but that’s not true. Actually the one on the Corner will put them in the microwave before serving them so they seem hot and fresh :-/ boooo Bodos. But other than that I do like them!

  3. Hi! New reader here! So glad to hear you had a good day after a grump morning. Exercise always helps me get back on track. Hooray on the dissertation committee responses! I’m sure that’s a huge weight off your shoulders. Hope the rest of your week goes well!

    PS LOVE ur cute Frenchie! We have a six yr old – Sashay. They are the best.

Leave a Reply

