First things first: Tri then Marathon

So I haven’t been posting much at all lately on my training efforts, mostly because of my freakin’ knee which has been soooo slow to get better. After bombarding y’all with posts on training for the Shamrock Marathon and then the White Lake Half Ironman earlier this spring I thought it’d be good to change it up a bit.

My exercise routine has been pretty boring yet consistent this summer. Taking some time off running left only a few options for me for cardio: elliptical (ughhhh hate this machine), spin classes, and swimming. The time has come , however, to get back to business with my real love: running. My runner’s knee (if that’s what it is…it feels different this time) is still hurting a bit but I’m able to eeek out short runs. So of course, what do I do? Sign up for a triathlon this weekend πŸ™‚

The Mission Man Sprint Tri is in Burlington, NC and should be really fun (like my most recent tris, Tri for the Y in Waynesboro and White Lake Half Ironman in North Carolina.

But let’s get real. I’ve got major marathon madness. For real. My next marathon is not until December (the Vegas Rock n Roll Marathon) and while I only followed 12 week training programs for my last two marathons, the Shamrock and Boston Marathon, I need to get back to training right. Like I did for the 2008 Chicago Marathon. That means the training starts August 1. Just in time for the ridiculously hot temps here! Woohoo (that was a sarcastic woohoo). But as I’ve said before, I love to run some of my long runs on the treadmill (gotta get back to my half marathon Wednesdays at the gym πŸ™‚ )

So after my triathlon this weekend it’s GO TIME baby! Been missing my running endorphins πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in active life, running, swim/bike/run!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

