What to Wear: Reunion

I went to my 10 year high school reunion. Yep, I went…back in November. It was only slightly awkward and strange to be 10 years out of high school and schmoozing with people who you only see very rarely. I had two people say hi to me and I had absolutely no idea who they were. Only two though!

So why do I bring up my reunion know, when it was over 6 months ago? I saw this post on ShopBop on what to wear to your reunion. Always a tricky decision; you don’t want to look like you tried too hard to dress up and impress. What you wear also depends on when/where your reunion is.

It’s probably safe to say that you want to go for a polished, yet “I don’t give a crap, but I still look pretty damn good” look. It’ll definitely be apparent if you try too hard

Romy and Michele know what I'm talkin' bout

I decided to wear skinny Seven jeans and a cute top (Free People) with a drape-front blazer and some heather gray heels for a laid back, yet polished look:

Jeans: Seven for All Mankind Skinnies; Top: Free People; Blazer: Anthropologie; Watch: Michael Kors

The night WAS fun even though it reminded me that I am getting older and time is flying by.

Here are some of my faves right now for a late summer evening reunion:

1. Neutral colors (“I’m so understated, yet chic!”)

 Mint green Nicole Miller stretch jersey racerback dress (via Bluefly: $130)

  OR Wyatt sand stretch knit drape cropped blazer (via Bluefly: $74) with taupe pleated “challis” shorts (via Bluefly: $48)

Worn with nude Aldo Osmonda heels (via Zappos: $67) or Vince Camuto pumps (via Piperlime: $89)

2. Bold Color-Blocking (“Look at me! Look at me! I’m spot-on trend”)

Diane von Furstenberg Reara Colorblock Dress via Nordstroms: $365

OR Orange/mink color block dress with pleated skirt via ASOS: $60

Worn with Vivienne Westwood black pumps via Zappos: $162

This entry was posted in fashionable life, shopping and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

