Vegas Marathon: It’s Official!

A little over a week ago I posted my fall/winter marathon choices. Well, I had to make a decision and I think I made the obvious one: the 2011 Rock ‘n’ Roll Vegas Marathon!!! Vegas in December? Running on the strip at night? No brainer.

I’ve never run a marathon during the early winter so I think it’s going to work out great. The weather here in central Va stays pretty warm through the beginning of December (by warm, I mean in the 40s and 50s). Perfect training weather!

While I was at home I was also able to put together a tentative race schedule for the months leading up to the main event. Here’s what I put together (you’ll see the races range from short to long, running to triathlon. They are just options):

Friday June 24 Vine to Wine 5k, 6pm, Fishersville (I don’t ever sign up for 5ks anymore but this sounds fun!)Sunday July 10, Colonial Beach International Triathlon, 6:50am, Colonial Beach, Va OR Sunday July 10, Splash and Dash Aquathon, 600 meter swim, 10k run, 7:30am, Silver Spring, MD

Sunday July 16, Midnight Madness 8.4mi run, Philadelphia OR Sunday July 17, Shady Grove YMCA Sprint Tri (300m swim, 12.4 bike, 5k)

July 30 Culpepper International Triathlon

August 13, Luray International Triathlon, Luray, Va

August 21, PowerSprint Women Only Tri (400m swim, 11 mi bike, 5k)

August 27 Jefferson Sprint Tri at Fry Springs Pool OR Patrick Henry Half Marathon, Richmond, Va

September 24 Big Lick Olympic Triathlon, Huddleston, Va

September 25 Naylor’s Beach Olympic Tri/Aquabike (Swim 1500 Meters, Bike 26 Miles)/Aquathlon (Swim 1500 Meters, Run 6.2 Miles) OR Reston, Va, The Perfect 10, 10 Miler OR Freedom’s Run Half Marathon, Shepherdstown, WV

October 1, Giant Acorn International Tri Lake Anna OR Beckley Half Marathon

Oct. 2, Mount Vernon – Woodrow Wilson Bridge Half Marathon

October 9, BAA Half Marathon (Boston trip maybe? 🙂 )

November 12, Richmond Marathon (maybe run this as a training run?)

December 4, Las Vegas Marathon!!!!

SOOOOOO excited to plan a trip to Vegas this winter and run another marathon! Vegas, here I come!

This entry was posted in active life, running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Vegas Marathon: It’s Official!

  1. Pingback: AND…I’m back | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  2. Brian says:

    Vegas Marathon just looks super fun. I love Vegas and I love running at night completely independently of each other. Combine them and it sounds perfect. Schedule won’t work out for me (and I’m signed up for Philly) but this is definitely one of the ones on my “bucket list”. Good luck!

  3. I love night running too!!! It feels like I’m going faster or something, haha. I was totally going to sign up for Philly because it’s one of the last big city marathons that doesn’t sell out like 2 minutes after registration opens. Oh well, there’s always next year. Look forward to reading about your experience!!

  4. Pingback: First things first: Tri then Marathon | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  5. Pingback: Day One, Yet Again | Let's Go on a Living Spree

Leave a Reply

