Shenandoah Tri for the Y (18.4)

Ridiculously fun!

It’s amazing how doing a short distance race can be so–well—SHORT after I’ve been racing farther distances for quite some time. I finished the whole race (500 meter swim, 15 mile bike, 5k run) in 1 hour 26 min, so that was pretty good. I’m still so used to holding back, to pacing myself, so I had a ton of energy left when I crossed the finish line. And the 15 mile bike, although extremely hilly, seemed so short!!! Compared to the 56 mile bike of 3 weeks ago, I suppose it was. After getting my bike tuned up, she flew yesterday. I was passing people right and left, which if you don’t know, is a new thing for me (the bike is my weakest segment so usually people pass me!). I spent most of the time on my aero bars so I could just feel that I was zipping along. Here are some other pics:

Pool at 5:30am

Transition set up

I am a goober

Finish line

Overall, the weather was perfect: overcast and not too hot (unlike the stifling heat of my half ironman in May!) Because the race was so short, I was home by 10am. The weather cleared up to a beautiful sunny day and I had the rest of the day to do something fun! So what does a girl do when she wants to have a lazy, fun Sunday in central Va? She goes to watch Polo at a vineyard, that’s what! I’ll post with some pics a bit later.

Happy Monday!!

This entry was posted in active life, swim/bike/run! and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shenandoah Tri for the Y (18.4)

  1. Pingback: Mission (Wo)Man Tri | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  2. Pingback: Day One, Yet Again | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  3. Pingback: 2011 Race Recap | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  4. Pingback: 2011 Race Recap | Let's Go on a Living Spree

Leave a Reply

