Summertime Commitment

I know, I know I’ve been sooooo inconsistent with my posts lately, but I’ve definitely needed a little break from my computer. It is BEYOND me how some other people can work full-time jobs and blog (and some of these bloggers claim to be really busy at work!). I’m telling ya, having a research job, teaching a college class, getting a PhD/writing a dissertation AND writing a blog is a lot. And you know what? I realized that I’m just not so into myself that I need to be blabbing on about what I do all the time. I can get sick of myself!!! So while I’ll continue on with posting once a day (sometimes more if I feel like it), I don’t want to ever feel like I need to.

Whew, glad I got that off my chest! I don’t know about where you live, but this week has been scorching HOT in central Va. It literally feels like it’s been the middle of July! Today was in the high 90s and the weekend doesn’t look much better. I’ve been feeling really lethargic and I think the weather is partly to blame. I’m also still recovering from the weekend. I went out on Friday night and then again with some friends on Saturday night (umm yea, that night ended with some late night swimming if that tells ya anything) and then watched the University of Virginia lacrosse team win the national championship (yea baby!) at the bar on Monday.

Throw in a good amount of time in the sun and…POOF, I’m tired.

But you know what, I think it’s more than that. I think in the summer I just get….Lazy. It happens every summer. I still go to the gym, but my workouts aren’t as intense or as long. Plus, the fact that it’s a million degrees outside means that I can’t run outside unless it’s in the very early morning or the late evening. Also, I just can’t seem to push myself as much.

On the food front, I don’t have nearly as much self-control when it comes to eating for some reason. Every summer I gain weight and I hate it! Right when it’s time to wear more revealing clothes and swimsuits, urrggh.

This summer I am really going to try for this not to happen. REALLY! I’m trying to do more interval training runs on the treadmill and I’ve made a commitment to myself to do more (a lot more) strength training. I don’t really care so much about how much I weigh…I’m just not happy with my body shape. All those months of training for distance events have actually left me with less definition in some areas (my legs look like they are just one big muscle, I swear!). For food, I just need to stop eating so much! I’m usually ok with eating balanced meals throughout the day but once nighttime falls all bets are off. Yep, I binge at night. Cereal, waffles, cookies, fro yo, pretzels…you name it, if it’s in the kitchen I’ll eat it all. So here goes. I need more self-control!!!!!

And I have some fun things coming up so I want to hold myself to these commitments. This weekend I have a sprint triathlon and I’m also going out multiple nights, next weekend I’m off to Michigan for my cousin’s bridal shower and my sister’s baby shower, then two weeks later I’m going to Ft Lauderdale for a mini beach vacay, then a month later I’m going to Myrtle Beach. That’s lots of time in a bikini folks.

So here goes: my up the workout intensity/reduce the food bingeing challenge, day 1.

This entry was posted in active life, balanced life, eating. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Summertime Commitment

  1. Pingback: Workout in a pinch | Let's Go on a Living Spree

Leave a Reply

