My kind of celebration

So my qualifying paper is in! Not before my crazy perfectionist side stopped me from turning it in the first time (as I claimed I was doing my last post). I saw one sentence–one out of 50+ pages) that I wasn’t quite satisfied with. So I forced myself to turn around and reprint all of the pages haha (I had to redo the page #s and PDF file). But it’s in and out of my hands!!!! I’m so ridiculous, I know. I had to post this on Facebook ๐Ÿ˜‰

The funny thing about being done with something I’ve been working on day in and day out for so long is that now that it’s in I don’t know what to do! I didn’t even feel as relieved as I thought I’d feel. Perhaps it’s because I know that I still have a long way to go–a whole dissertation to write–before I’m done. BUT, it IS one step closer and if all goes according to plan this time next year I’ll be a Dr. ย ๐Ÿ™‚

I knew I wanted to reward myself after I turned it in, but I’ve been trying really hard lately not to reward myself with food. I know I have a weird relationship with food already. I’m constantly hungry. Like I’m never full. Maybe it’s because I exercise for so long each day…but maybe not. I always find myself grazing all evening and night even after I’ve had an enormous dinner. And I’m not talking about a few pieces of candy here and there. I’m talking about tons of actual food. Last night I made two waffles smothered in peanut butter, followed by chocolate pudding, and then a bowl of cereal 30 minutes later. That was all after I ate chicken kabobs, rice, and hummus for dinner. So…back to my original point: I’m trying really hard not to reward myself with food or use food for any emotional reason for that matter.

BUT, of course I had to eat lunch. I just didn’t want to go overboard with candy and milkshakes (which is what I really wanted). Off to Whole Foods. A treat indeed!

Our Whole Foods in Cville is a bit–how do I put this–ghetto. It’s not like the palace of a grocery store in Ann Arbor. Ann Arbor’s Whole Foods is enormous with the one of the biggest salad bars in the country. But great news! They’ve built a new Whole Foods that is only 5 minutes from where I live and it’s opening this summer. Hurray! ๐Ÿ™‚

I only got sidetracked in the dessert area for a minute or two…

Checked out the salad bar (I love the wheat and goji berry salad!)

But ended up with a grilled chicken sandwich on wheat with some pop chips and a kombucha. That’s a nice little celebratory lunch, eh?

On to celebrate some more tomorrow and Sunday in D.C. Happy Weekend!!!

This entry was posted in Celebrate!, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

