“Headed down to North Caroline”

Stats Exam? Finished!

Classes? Dunzo! That’s all she wrote, folks! (Dissertation…well that’s another story)

Packed? Yep!

All I gotta do is load up and head out. All the way down to North Carolina ๐Ÿ™‚ I can’t believe in two short days I will be attempting a half ironman. For some reason I feel way too relaxed about this whole thing. When I train for and run marathons I always get the jitters and take it so seriously! The half ironman distance will take me considerably longer to finish than a marathon (I’m shooting for 6 1/2 hours) but for some reason I’m feeling a bit nonchalant about the whole thing. I got my wetsuit in the mail yesterday, which sparked a bit of excitement. Usually I try to rent a wetsuit from a local store, but the Tri store here in Charlottesville stopped renting and the store in Richmond didn’t have my size. It was a good thing that happened because if you order off wetsuitrental.com, you get to choose a full sleeve or sleeveless wetsuit (I always want sleeveless because it doesn’t restrict the movement in your arms) and they send you a really quality brand like Zoot, Quintana Roo, or 2XU (like mine)!

Here’s a picture of me with my full sleeve wetsuit at the tri I did in Vegas (I just got out of the water and am running to transition at my bike)

Here’s my wetsuit for this weekend

This won't make me look goofy or anything, right?

Here’s the description about my wetsuit: boasting 2XU’s new Silicone X Skin (SXS) coating alongside world class Yamamoto neoprene, the new ST:2 promises to outperform all other sleeveless suits on the market. Additional proprietary 2XU features include Rollbar, 520% Stretch Lining, Floating Zip Panel and 39 Cell Front Buoyancy Panel for efficiency through the water. Graduated Velocity Strakes across the chest offer heightened body positioning and streamlined tracking through the water like never before.

Hot damn, I hope it makes me a better swimmer ๐Ÿ˜‰ The decision to rent vs. buy has been a difficult one for me. I don’t do that many tris, but now that I have a nice road bike I want to do more (probably shorter distances more often). The cost of renting is about $50 for a week vs. $250+ to buy.

So I’m trying to hype myself up for this race, but it might have to wait until I actually get to the expo tomorrow. For now all I can do is…carb load!! What else?

Today I enjoyed a yummy toasted whole wheat bagel with a tiny bit of reduced fat cream cheese and some strawberry jelly.

The set up probably looks strange because I set up camp in the UVa Bookstore right after I finished my Stats exam. They’ve got a nice little coffee spot and some tables to do work. It’s always free and clear of undergrads because I think they don’t know it exists, haha.

So after this bite to eat I’m heading off to North Carolina. Reminds me of that great song by Old Crow Medicine Show. “Headin’ down south to the land of the pines, thumbin’ my way into North Caroline”

I’ll be sure to send an update tonight or tomorrow!!!!

This entry was posted in Getting Ready, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Headed down to North Caroline”

  1. Have a great time and good luck!

Leave a Reply

