Half Ironman/Marathon Running Playlists

As I prepare all of the small details for my trip this weekend (ipod included), I thought I’d share some of my training and racing playlists. Although I like to listen to different genres of music depending on my mood, I always come back to some of the same songs to pump me up for the long haul. Here are some important things that I always try to follow when crafting a playlist:

  • The beat is important. The actual beats per minute (BPM) should dictate which part of the workout you are on.
  • In accordance with the first point, I always start with some slow, yet inspiring songs to help me keep a modest pace as I warm up. If I didn’t have some slower songs I would take off right away, burn all of my glycogen stores and feel the lactic acid burn too quickly (we’re like machines…think of getting a slow burn into your workout/training run).
  • As I warmup the BPM get faster. The words in a song are equally important to me. Most of my songs either have a good BPM or great lyrics. The great ones have BOTH. I try to include as many as possible that pump me up and have really good BPM.

This first playlist is a classic for me (this is for about a 15 miler or so. Sometimes I skip songs if I don’t feel like hearing them): a good mix of hip hop, rap, and rock. The first 4-5 songs are pretty slow (although they get progressively faster). It is finished off with
“Till I Collapse” and “Remember The Name”, which should definitely pump you up to push through any tough spots.

If this song doesn’t get you to push through, you may not have a pulse ๐Ÿ˜‰

The next playlist is my rock running one (I’ve split it into two so I can include it here). I almost never listen to rock music outside of running, but it is SO cathartic. This is especially true if you are mad about something, going through a breakup, need to get out some stress, etc. Like my other playlist, it starts out relatively slow with a kick-ass remix of Linkin Park’s Crawling, an Audioslave track with a really good beat, and some other songs to get you pumped up (Breakdown by Seether). It then gets faster. When Breaking Benjamin comes on and asks “is it over yet?” tell yourself NO! You’ve got some more work to do ๐Ÿ™‚ ย The playlist ends with two of my favorites: Closer by Nine Inch Nails (a bit dirty, but such a great running song) and the instrumental version of Metallica’s Nothing Else Matters by Apocolyptica, which is perfect for winding down a run. I know some of these are totally cheesy, but they do the trick ๐Ÿ™‚

Happy running/biking/weight lifting/etc!

This entry was posted in active life, running, swim/bike/run!, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Half Ironman/Marathon Running Playlists

  1. Thanks for sharing, I’m always looking for songs with good beats to add to my Ipod!

  2. Pingback: Rock My Run | Let's Go on a Living Spree

Leave a Reply

