Graduate Student Diversity Banquet

Last night’s banquet at the Boar’s Head was so much fun!

Two fellow doctoral students in my program are on the graduate student diversity committee and I wanted to show as much support as I could for the work that they do. It was a celebration of all kinds of diversity: physical, cultural, program, ability, etc. My invite included a two drink tickets (after which drinks were from cash bar), three-course meal, and some great schmoozing. The invite called for cocktail attire so as I showed yesterday, I wore a fun dress I got from H&M

With my favorite hot pink lipstick πŸ™‚

Although I didn’t take any pictures of the food (felt that was a bit inappropriate in the setting), the dinner was great. It started with a light squash gazpacho, followed by a mixed green salad, chicken entree (I opted for chicken out of three choices: chicken, salmon, and portabello mushroom), and an amazing marbled cake with raspberries, strawberries, and dark chocolate

The speaker was a professor from the Biomedical Engineering program. He gave some great insights into the importance of mentoring for graduate students, especially for underrepresented minorities (surprise, surprise, that’s what I study).

Sorry a bit blurry

With my beautiful friend Natalie who helped plan the event!

All in all a great evening! Today so far has been pretty relaxing as well. I need to do some work for my qualifying exam, which is due on Tuesday (EEEEEeeeeeeeek!), but just ran into some friends who are planning on going out tonight so I’ll most likely join them πŸ˜‰

And tomorrow is Easter! Now I don’t celebrate the religious aspects of most holidays including Easter (I explain my secular humanist beliefs here), but I always try to do something fun. Tomorrow I have a brunch planned at a little restaurant in Nellysford, Va I’ve heard so much about: Basic Necessities. The weather is supposed to be beautiful, sunny and in the 80s, so I can’t wait to take a drive and get some yummy food.

Hope you’re weekend has been GREAT so far! πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Celebrate!, social life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

