Veritas Vineyard

Good morning everyone! As I sit here waiting for my qualifying exam “class” (it’s more like a peer review meeting) to start, I thought I’d share my pictures from wine tasting on Saturday. First up, breakfast. I’m trying to get back into the swing of things in terms of eating clean and healthy, especially after this past weekend! A simple breakfast of plain greek yogurt, some healthy cereal, and unsweetened iced tea hits the spot. I know a lot of people love the flavored greek yogurts, like the ones from Chobani, but I only ever eat the plain versions (Fage 0% is my favorite). The flavored ones have so much sugar and really I like the taste of plain, especially if I pair it with cereal or fruit. I love to eat Fage 0% with grapes!

Ok, so on to a recap of wine tasting. As I mentioned, I decided to go wine tasting with some friends instead of race in the Rumpass in Bumpass olympic triathlon because the weather was horrendous! And it turned out to be a great idea because Veritas Vineyard has the coziest lodge in which to taste wines. It has cozy leather couches and warm wood undertones with a big fire (perfect for a rainy day!). What I love about going to Veritas is that unlike a lot of other wineries that serve a big group of strangers together around a table, they serve your private party at your own table or couch.

My favorite was their Viognier. According to our sommelier, this white wine had ripe peach, apricot and tangerine fruit flavors with subtle tones of orange blossom and honeysuckle. I typically love sauvignon blanc  that is not overly dry or fruity so this was perfect! The wine guild of Charlottesville gives this wine a rave review here.

Overall, I had a great time and I can’t wait to check out some of the many other vineyards in the area on the Virginia Wine Trail.

This entry was posted in social life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Veritas Vineyard

  1. We’re yogurt soul mates – I only choose the plain ones as well – all those added sugars are just calories to spend on something else!

  2. OMG, I know!!! Extra calories and it doesn’t even taste better most of the time!!

  3. Pingback: Following The Monticello Wine Trail | Let's Go on a Living Spree

Leave a Reply

