Non-stop Weekend Recap

This weekend was chock full of activities!!!!! I definitely needed a whole weekend of just hanging out with friends and getting some really good food and drinks. It’s been so long since I’ve taken both Saturday and Sunday off from working and let me tell ya, it felt great. The only downfall with going out both days and nights is that I didn’t get a chance to exercise at all. No gym, no running, no biking, no swimming, nada. So I do feel a bit blahhh because I’ve indulged all weekend and my body is telling me that it needs the following: water, rest, healthy foods, and exercise. Basically I need a bit of a detox. But that’s what the week is for, right?

The weekend started with the first Fridays After Five, which as I’ve quickly explained before is a free concert series in Charlottesville that happens every Friday from April to September. I live right on the downtown mall (where FA5 happens) so it’s great to go out and enjoy the music, food, and drinks with friends. A lot of people come out with their friends and family to do the same so it’s a great place to see and be seen in Cville. Sophie helped me decide what to wear (I ended up wearing my white jeans with a top from LOFT, my new wedges, and my Kate Spade cross-body bag).

Sophie helping me decide what to wear

Friday was also Sophie’s 5th birthday, so I decided to take her along as a treat because she LOVES all the attention from people and dogs.

Lets go mom, I wanna get there!

As I suspected, there were a ton of people out for the first FA5 and I ran into some friends, including my friend Beth a fellow doctoral student in my program 🙂

Catching up with my friend Beth!

 After drinking for awhile at the Charlottesville Pavilion, we grabbed some dinner at Eppie’s, one of my favorite food spots on the downtown mall. Eppie’s is a fast, casual restaurant that serves up some amazing Southern fare, like rotisserie chicken, mac and cheese, and cornbread. I always get the greek salad topped with their pulled chicken and it comes with a side of pumpkin bread. I didn’t get a picture of my meal, but I go there a lot so I’ll make sure to snap a shot next time around.

Eppies

On Saturday I woke up to some torrential downpours and thunderstorms and although I had signed up for an olympic distance triathlon (the Rumpass in Bumpass) I decided not to go. I figured it wouldn’t be worth it to drive all the way out there just to risk the chance that the race would be changed to a duathlon format due to the weather. So I did what anyone would do when they decide not to participate in an endurance race. I went wine tasting at Veritas Vineyard 🙂  When I was getting ready to head out  with some friends I had my doubts about skipping the triathlon, but after getting there and drinking some great wine in front of a big fire I knew I made the right decision. Plus, I had to get ready for my rooftop party that night! The pictures are on my nicer digital SLR, Nikon D80, so I’ll do a whole separate post on the experience.

Although the rain stopped and the weather cleared up just in time for the party, it was a bit chilly to hang out on the rooftop. So we moved the party inside to my apartment and it worked out great! So many of my friends showed up, which was a huge relief. You know when you plan a party and you’re afraid no one is going to show? I have the worst anxiety about that, but everyone came and most people brought friends! For a little while there my apartment was pretty packed! We had wine, beer, vodka, rum, tequila for margaritas, and a whole bunch of mixers and by the time we decided to head out to the bar (around midnight) all the drinks were basically gone. Perfect! Here’s some pictures from the party.

Higher ed peeps

More higher ed folks

At Zocalo

You know Im crazy, right?

Fitting end to the night; Hijinx at Qdoba

What a night!! So much fun 🙂 I didn’t even get to bed until 4am and woke up early at 9:30am to go get breakfast and tour the University with some friends. I was not feeling well at all. Let’s just say I took a few trips to the restroom when we were having our breakfast. After a bagel and some hot tea I felt so much better and the weather was sooo beautiful!!! It was hard not to feel better with the sun shining and all the flowers/trees blooming. The dogwoods are blooming this weekend so the colors were really pretty.

Dogwoods blooming!

Whew! What a weekend! I know it’ll be difficult to get back into my routine tomorrow but I can’t wait to go to the gym and work off some of this weekend craziness. See y’all in the morning!

This entry was posted in Celebrate!, social life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Non-stop Weekend Recap

  1. Love the outfit, especially the bag! I can’t wait to break out my white pants, but it’s been too rainy in Pittsburgh.

  2. Aww thanks! Hopefully the sun will come out in Pittsburgh soon! Btw, I love it there! I’ve been a few times and always have a great time!!

  3. Pingback: One Year Anniversary | Let's Go on a Living Spree

Leave a Reply

