Fashion Fridays Mondays: Summer Beauty

Surprise! When I walked out the door this morning, it was hot! I mean, humid hot. Automatically I regretted drying and straightening my hair. It’s just going to get put up into a ponytail in this weather! So I thought I’d just present some of my favorite warmer weather products for today’s Fashion Fridays Monday post. I know, I know it’s not “fashion” per se, but I feel like fashion is the whole package: clothes, accessories, beauty, etc. So here are some of my favorites, please feel free to share some of yours!

1. Hair

Straight: Central Virginia can get oppressively hot in the summer months. Although it is only April, the hot, humid days are just around the corner (as today’s weather shows). I typically blow dry and straighten or curl my hair but this just doesn’t work in the summer here. I always end up putting it up into a bun/ponytail or have really frizzy hair. If I do want to try to straighten it, here are some of my favorite products that can keep it frizz-free without weighing it down.

Kérastase products are simply the best, hands down. Although they don’t come cheap (shampoo is about $35), they are totally worth it. I use the Kérastase Nutritive line for normal to dry, sensitized hair, the  Bain Satin 2 Complete Nutrition Shampoo and the Nectar Thermique Leave-In Nourishing Heat Protectant (these are for normal hair).

To fight frizz, it’s also important to use some lightweight serum or straightening balm before you dry. My absolute favorites are the Sexy Straight Hair Smooth & Seal aerated spray (I just tried this a month ago although it is lightweight it works so well. Plus it smells great!) and Kérastase Oleo Relax Serum, probably the best all around straightening serum out there. I also use Loreal Elnett Satin Hairspray on my dry hair before straightening it. It provides great hold but doesn’t give you helmet head 🙂

Straight Sexy Hair Smooth & Seal

Kerastase Oleo Relax Serum

Loreal Elnett Satin Hairspray

Wavy: When I want wavy hair in the summer (which is about 85% of the time), I only use a few products. Aveda’s Be Curly and Bumble and Bumble’s Curl Creme are equally great products that allow your hair to dry naturally with a bit of a wave. As with the other products, these smell great as well!

2. Skin

Prepping my skin before and after I’m outside has become so important. As a dermatologist’s daughter, I grew up hearing about the necessity of sunscreen. It is so important for everyone to wear sunscreen!! I can’t emphasize that enough. La Roche-Posay Anthelios SPF 60 Melt-in Sunscreen Milk is seriously amazing (all the celebrities use it!). It’s expensive but my Dad usually gets samples in so I’ve started to use it when I can. For a more affordable option, I like Neutrogena’s Fresh Cooling BodyMist Sunblock in 45SPF (anything with an SPF above 30 is fine!). I also swear by Neutrogena’s MicroMist Sunless Spray (in the 2 shades darker version). This is the best sunless spray I’ve used and it’s very affordable (about $11). The bottle says to just spray it on and not to rub it in, but I find that you need to rub it around to make sure it goes on evenly. To wash the sunscreen, makeup, and sweat (ew) away at the end of the day, I have become a huge fan of Origins Checks and Balances Frothy Face Wash (my advisor gave me some of this as a gift and I’ve loved it ever since!).  Finally, I really like Lancome’s Aqua Fusion moisturizer. It’s oil-free and lightweight!

La Roche-Posay Anthelios SPF 60 Melt-in Sunscreen Milk

Neutrogena Fresh Cooling SPF 45

Neutrogena MicroMist Sunless Tanning Spray

Origins Checks and Balances Frothy Face Wash

Lancome Aqua Fusion Moisturizer

 3. Makeup

I drastically reduce the makeup products I use when it gets hot out (like most women!). I have to admit that I haven’t jumped on the mineral makeup bandwagon and a lot of people can’t believe that I don’t use Bare Essentials. Mineral makeup is a great choice for many people, but if you’re set in your ways like me, here are some other options. Wearing sunscreen has become of upmost importance to me in the recent years. I just don’t want wrinkles and the sun is our biggest enemy! Laura Mercier has an amazing tinted moisturizer that goes on sheer with SPF 20. I also have oily, breakout-prone skin and this tinted moisturizer is completely non-comdegenic! If  I want to make sure my makeup stays in the hot, sticky weather, I use Smashbox’s Photo Finish Light Primer. This primer is completely oil-free so I won’t cause breakouts, but if you’re not worried about that or if you have dry skin Smashbox also has the Photo Finish Primer for normal skin as well.

Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer w/ SPF 20

Smashbox Photo Finish Light Primer

Bobbi Brown Shimmer Brick Collection

If I want more matte coverage, I use a bit of Chanel’s Poudre Universelle Libre (oil-free) loose powder. And for a bronze, dewey finish I use Bobbi Brown’s Shimmer Brick (it comes in different colors as shown below). A few applications of a great waterproof mascara, like DiorShow Waterproof Mascara, and a quick swipe of a pretty lipgloss like Chanel’s Glossimer Lipgloss , and I’m ready to go!

Chanel Poudre Universelle Libre (oil-free)

DiorShow Waterproof Mascara

Chanel Glossimer Lipglosses

4. Nails

I was excited last week because I used one of my favorite nail colors for summer, OPI’s Cajun Shrimp. It’s a great pinky-orange color that is so summery (it also looks great with a bit of a tan). While I love to wear deep reds, greys, and purples (Lincoln Park After Dark anyone?) in the winter, once summer comes I can’t wait to wear bright pinks 🙂 Pastel’s are also perfect for Spring.  I was at Ulta the other day and saw Essie’s Spring 2011 collection, A French Affair. These colors are so pretty and feminine (perfect for Easter?!). J.Crew also sells really great Essie colors in their stores.

Essie Spring 2011 A French Affair

J. Crew Essie Colors

OPI Cajun Shrimp

This entry was posted in fashionable life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

