Fashion Fridays Mondays: The In-Betweens

In the spirit of this week’s crazy weather, today’s Fashion Fridays Monday post is on outfits that can handle it all: the “in-betweens”. The weather this past week in Charlottesville has been all over the place. One day it was chilly and cloudy; the next, hot and sunny. I don’t know about you but whenever the seasons change I have a hard time putting together outfits. Not only do I find it difficult to dress for the ever-changing weather, but I need practice in putting together that new season’s looks.

Yesterday and today have been especially difficult because they both started out overcast and a bit chilly but became hot and sunny by noon (today is 85 and sunny!!!! 🙂 ) I must have tried on 8 different outfits this morning, so I wanted to give an idea of what I was thinking about. An “in-between” outfit for me typically has long sleeves on the top and shorter bottoms (and vice versa). It can also be one that has layers that I can take off if it gets too hot. Here are a few of the outfits I was deciding on today.

1. White Jeans

It’s official! The weather has turned much warmer and my white jeans are out, wohooo! I especially consider this a win if they still fit well from last summer (they do!). I thought I’d pair my white jeans with a flowy, sheer tank, woven belt, and my new wedges.

Jeans: J. Crew
Tank: Nordy’s Juniors Dept (kinda old)
Belt: American Eagle
Wedges: Steve Madden (new!)

2. Long-sleeved Top & Short Shorts

Ok, so I absolutely LOVE this top first because it fits really well, has puff sleeves, is sheer, breezy, and flowy, and has the most adorable print. I actually got it from Forever 21 over the winter I’ve been just waiting to wear it! Until it gets super hot (which it will here in central Va), I’ll pair something like this sheer long sleeve top with some shorter shorts (not too short, that wouldn’t look so classy).

Top: Forever 21
Shorts: J. Crew outlet (old)
Wedges: Nine West (about 2 years old)

3. Skirt & Cardi

I have to admit that I actually don’t wear a lot of shorts during the warmer months. It’s not that I don’t like my legs, but unless I’m just hanging around/going to the pool/beach or if it’s really hot, I’d rather wear dresses, skirts, or capris. This is an outfit that I can recreate many times over with the pieces in my closet: white a-line skirt (sort of sheer, above the knee), black tank (love white and black!), lightweight pink flower cardigan, and black flats (they actually have a tiny little wedge). The cardi is great because it is so lightweight and will give me some warmth inside my office but I can take it off when I go outside. I also love these shoes because they are super comfortable but still have this tiny wedge so they give me a little height (and a boost for my legs).

White skirt: Gap (about 1 year old)
Black tank: Nordy’s juniors dept
Pink flower cardi: Ann Taylor Loft
Black wedges/flats: Nine West

Can you guess which outfit I chose to wear today?

For some more inspiration on how to put together “in-between” looks, check out the following outfits as put together by The Limited and J.Crew. They are great examples of how to layer and balance an outfit:

The Limited

J. Crew


This entry was posted in fashionable life, shopping. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fashion Fridays Mondays: The In-Betweens

  1. All of these are so cute! Love it when my white jeans fit a year later, too . . . will need to walk that plank again soon with the trying on! 😉

    Hmmmm . . . hard to choose what you wore since I don’t know your *exact* agenda, but maybe #3 if you’re working??? Whatever you chose, you definitely look adorable!

  2. CORRECT! Get that girl a prize 😉

  3. Pingback: Brews With A View | Let's Go on a Living Spree

Leave a Reply

