2011 Monument 10k

Ahh, there’s nothing like the atmosphere at really big races! Yesterday’s Monument 10k had over 40,000 runners, the second largest race I have ever run in (the first largest being the 2008 Chicago Marathon). Melissa and I woke up early and quickly fell into our pre-race routines. It’s funny how runners have to have their exact routine to follow to make sure they will run well. We then drove down to the race start/finish, which was on VCU’s campus.

VCU had a ton of signs everywhere promoting school spirit for the final four bball vs. Butler last night. It’s too bad they lost ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

The race was really well organized for its size. There were different waves, from A all the way to W, which dictated when you would start to run. I was in wave G.

G-unit! ๐Ÿ˜‰

View of the start from Melissa's wave

The course was out and back so by the time I got to mile 2, the elite runners were on their way back down to the finish. ย I didn’t plan on running that fast–mostly because I haven’t trained for short, fast races and didn’t want to hurt myself (I have some big races coming up!)–and I didn’t. I ran the first 5k in just about 25min and finished in 53:55. I know I wasn’t aiming for a PR or anything so I’m ok with this time (especially after running 13.1 miles just a mere two days prior). ย It was a really great run just for the atmosphere and also for me to try out some new gear. I’ve been running lately in my new compression socks, which feel really good on my calves (I have some problems with them cramping up).

At the starting line before the race

The finish had the usual naners and bagels ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Look at all those naners!

Overall it was a really fun time, especially because I got to run with my friend. Usually I run races alone, so this was a special treat for me ๐Ÿ™‚

 

We did it! All bundled up after the run

That's a wrap on the Monument 10k folks!

P.S. Some of the pages at the top have been updated, including the Active Life

This entry was posted in active life, Happy, running. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 2011 Monument 10k

  1. It was a treat for me, too! XO

  2. Pingback: 2011 Race Recap | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  3. Pingback: 2011 Race Recap | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  4. Pingback: One Year Anniversary | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  5. Pingback: Further Proof That Running Is A Drug | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  6. Pingback: Running Rut | Let's Go on a Living Spree

Leave a Reply

