I’m Addicted

I have to admit something. I have a serious addiction. For awhile I was living in denial, thinking my problem wasn’t really as bad as it was, but the time has come to face it. I have to have it everyday. If I don’t, I get tired and cranky (I know, because I’ve cut it out over that last week before the marathon and I swear I went through withdrawal!). I’m addicted to Diet Coke.

I know what you’re thinking: Diet Coke? Is it even possible to have an addiction to diet soda? Let me tell you, yes it is and I have a problem!!  Maybe it wouldn’t be so bad that I drink at least one diet coke everyday except that I completely substitute it for water. Unless I’m running or exercising I just don’t like to drink water! What’s wrong with me?? I decided forgo my Diet Coke fix everyday for a week before the marathon just to force myself to be hydrated for the race. And you want to know the first thing I wanted with my meal after the race? Yep, a huge Diet Coke from the Cheesecake Factory.

I’ve been brainstorming ways to cut down on my Diet Coke intake and up my water consumption and I think I’ve found something that helps. At the marathon expo I got a large hard plastic cup with straw (it looks like a cup you get at a food joint except it’s reusable) and it’s helped me sip water unknowingly throughout the past two days.  I think it has something to do with the straw because I have a ton of Nalgene bottles that I bring with me and never drink.  So here’s my attempt to beat my Diet Coke addiction. I don’t want to completely stop drinking it, I just want to drink it less often.

The time has come to replace this…

I want it. I need it. I've got to have it!

With this…

Let's. Go. H2O!

I’m gonna start right away. Tomorrow… 😉

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m Addicted

  1. Ha! Before I even clicked on your post, I knew it was going to be something about being addicted! I know you so well! 😉 I just thought it was going to be you being addicted to races! 😀

  2. I’m totally addicted to races too!! Oye, I need help 😉

  3. Pingback: Food I absolutely cannot live without | Let's Go on a Living Spree

Leave a Reply

