Oldie but Goodie

I made a New Years resolution this year: to try one new recipe every week, that way by the end of the year I would have a full cooking repertoire. I already make a lot of things, but haven’t tried anything new in awhile so I thought this would be a nice challenge. While I haven’t really kept it up every week I have (successfully) made some new dishes (low-fat/whole grain lasagna, scallops & linguine, and turkey meatloaf).

I’m a creature of habit so I end up making similar things all the time. Sometimes, I also just want to make something I know is good and healthy. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it right? My mom used to always make the best stuffed peppers when we were young. She used ground beef, rice, green peppers, and bbq sauce. Now, I don’t cook that much with red meat at home and I always try to make things with less calories and fat so I always use turkey. I make something with ground turkey (the 97% fat free kind) almost twice a week every week: turkey burgers, chili, sauces, tacos, etc. I love using it to make simple stuffed peppers (I say simple because you could add a ton of other vegetables or ingredients to the stuffing part). I also use whole grain rice instead of white rice. When all is said and done, you have the perfect carb, protein, veggie combo in the most perfect portions.

They are super easy to make. All you have to do is cut the peppers in half (I like to do this because they are easier to eat), blanch them in boiling water for about 5 minutes.

Don't forget to blanch the peppers first! They'll cook faster that way

After you brown the turkey and cook the rice, mix the two with some bbq sauce in a bowl and fill the peppers.

Brown that turkey, baby!

Put some more bbq sauce on the top and pop them in the oven for about 10 min. Then voila they’re done! YUM.

The best stuffed pepper dinner!

Tonight it’s either chicken stew or chicken stir fry. Decisions, decisions…

This entry was posted in eating. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oldie but Goodie

  1. Simple but yummy! I want to try this!

Leave a Reply

