Rock You Like A Hurricane

Last night’s Mardi Gras celebration definitely surpassed my expectations. So much so that I am literally working from my bed today πŸ˜‰ I had committed to leading a meeting in the evening for all of the higher education master’s students on attending professional conferences and networking so I was eager to get out and check-out the Fat Tuesday festivities. The meeting didn’t end until 8pm so I was starving and ready for some hurricanes. I met some friends at Beer Run, which is a cross between a restaurant, bar, and beer store. It really is a cool place because if you’re standing at the bar the coolers for the beer are right behind you.

Beer Run

They were having a Mardi Gras themed party, complete with a “Get Fat Tuesday” menu for dinner and drinks specials. I had to have a hurricane right off the bat and they were huge! For dinner I had a ham and swiss po’ boy with a side of maque choux. I’ve never had maque choux before–it’s like a spicy corn and tomato salad. I just like the way the name sounds, MAAACH CHHHHOIIIIIII, and I kept saying all night long πŸ˜‰

Hurricane!!

Mardi Gras Menu

Po' Boy with Maque Choux

After our filling meal we met up with a few more people on the Corner for some more drinks. I got to meet up with my friend Sarah, who I never see because she works nights

My friend Sarah is so pretty!!!!

You know how you have those nights that are completely unplanned yet turn out so well? Yep, last night was one of those nights πŸ™‚ I had really just planned to get dinner and one or two drinks and call it a night. I ended up staying at the bar until 2am!

Our bartender kept lining up different colored shots

Hope you had a fun Mardi Gras!!!

This entry was posted in Celebrate!, eating, social life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

