Cville 2011 Spring Fashion Challenge

So I mentioned earlier that I gave myself a little challenge–which is more like a game–to see if I can find some of the Spring fashions that I covet from the stores in Charlottesville. As you can tell I took this as a great excuse to not pay attention in class (who needs to know about running regressions on SPSS anyways?). Before I get to what I found, it would probably help to give an overview of what stores we have here in central VA. In short, not much. Oh, we’ve got the the usual Gap, Banana, J Crew (which is huge with the Southern preps around here), Ann Taylor, LOFT, White House Black Market, etc. We also just got Anthropologie and Urban Outfitters in the past 2 years, which definitely helps the cause. What we don’t have are many small, unique boutiques or stores like H&M, Forever 21, or Chicago-based Akira, that offer cheaper trendy items (so we don’t have to spend a lot on clothes/shoes which will be off-trend next season). The best smaller boutiques to buy clothes here are Duo (offers items by Trina Turk, Alice and Trixie, and Corey Lynn; http://shopatduo.com), Scarpa (offers shoes and clothes by Milly, Cole Haan, and Diane von Furstenberg; http://www.thinkscarpa.com), and Bittersweet (shoes and clothes by BB Dakota, Free People, and Frye; http://www.shopbittersweet.com). We used to have a jean-specific store that only sold Citizen, Seven, Hudson, Current Elliot, etc jeans. Of course this store, like many small businesses here, had to close.  Luckily the Short Pump mall in Richmond, which has Nordstroms, DSW, and some other stores we don’t have here, is only 45 min away.

Tracy Reese Spring 2011

So there are a few big trends which I love for spring. The 70s always get a revival every year around this time, but this year there is a much greater influence. Flared leg pants, maxi skirts, sheer peasant blouses, and big rounded sunnies are all a welcome sight. Here is my wish list for spring in the form of picture collages based on what I will find in Charlottesville stores (this does include Nordy’s in Richmond):

1. Tops and Bottoms

Tops & Bottoms

In terms of pants, I really only want a few for Spring. I already have sooo many jeans so I just would like the addition of one pair of flared Seven for All Mankind (found at Belk) and White cropped Matchstick pair (found at J.Crew). 3 years ago I had these amazing higher wasted flared Sevens that were a light wash and had a dropped hem. Sadly they didn’t really fit much anymore so I got rid of them, but they would be perfectly on trend for this spring! That teaches me to get rid of anything because most things come back into fashion. Although I’m sort of over the whole bf blazer thing, I think a preppy blazer in a fun blue color would be a fresh take on the style (one above from Urban). I also adore the heart bustier from Urban above (so cute!). The final two tops in a bright mustard yellow and cobalt blue are from Anthropologie. I can totally see myself wearing the yellow tank tucked in with the flared jeans and the blue top with the white cropped skinnies (with a wedge heel of course).

2. Dresses and Skirts

Dresses & Skirts for Spring in Charlottesville

It wouldn’t be Spring in Charlottesville–or anywhere in the South–if I wasn’t talking about skirts and dresses. These, I have learned, are a girl’s staples. Everyone dresses up here-to go to class, work, out for drinks, horse races, wine tasting, bbqs, etc. Unlike Boston or the midwest where I previously lived (where dressing up might have meant some nice pants and top or maybe skirt or dress), dressing up here means preppy sundresses and fun skirts. I’d love to find a maxi skirt a la Kate Bosworth in the pic above. These are back in style and the more simple the ensemble the better (wear with plain white tee as seen above). Not exactly sure where I can snag one around here but I’m keeping my eye out. The other skirts above are shorter with cute patterns (orange with stripes and blue with polka dots from Francescas). As you can see I also have my eye on some pretty dresses for the upcoming Foxfields & Preakness races (as well as some other great Spring events). Starting in the top right, I absolutely love this Free People “Mon Cheri” halter dress (Nordstroms). I can imagine it with the perfect big straw hat for Foxfields 🙂 Right below it is a fun Lilly Pulitzer dress (it wouldn’t be the South without rocking some L.P.!) from Belk. Going counter-clockwise is a striped Lacoste dress (also from Belk) seen worn with the Dolce Vita wedge that are everywhere this spring (always feel like rocking the nautical theme for spring!) and a Trina Turk resort wear pink dress from Duo. Finally, there is a striped cross-front halter dress from Anthropolgie which would be perfect for going out.

3. Accessories

Accessories

An outfit would be incomplete without some accessories and I’ve been coveting a few to complete my dream ensembles. Every year when the weather gets a bit warmer I can’t wait to trade my boots in for some wedges. This year I’d love to pair some dresses, skirts, and pants with the green True Religion wedges (from Scarpa) and brown espadrilles from Steve Madden (Macys). I also really want the Canvas Strappy Platform Sandal from Ann Taylor (bottom right). I think I can get 20% off of these if I bring in my People StyleWatch mag. The other accessories I’d love to snag are some Marc by Marc Jacobs bangles and watch (I already have one and probably won’t get another, but I love the one above!), a Juicy Couture cocktail ring, and a Marc by Marc Jacobs satchel/cross-body bag in a neutral tone.

This entry was posted in fashionable life, Getting Ready, shopping and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cville 2011 Spring Fashion Challenge

  1. hungryhealthyhappy says:

    Love love love this list! Let’s go shopping!

  2. Pingback: Cville 2011 Winter Fashion Challenge | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  3. Pingback: One Year Anniversary | Let's Go on a Living Spree

Leave a Reply

